Call for Papers for the 4th Annual Conference of Government and Economics

DATE: 2022-02-25

April 23, 2022

Tsinghua University, Beijing, China

The Society for the Analysis of Government and Economics (SAGE) and the Academic Center for Chinese Economic Practice and Thinking (ACCEPT) are happy to announce that the 4th Annual Conference of Government and Economics will be held on April 23, 2022 in Beijing, China. The main goals of the annual conference are to deepen our understanding of the relationship between government and economics, and to promote studies on the incentives of government behavior and impacts of government policy on the economy. The 1st conference was held on April 27, 2019.

SAGE ( aims to promote academic research on the subject of government and economics, including topics such as the incentives, behavior, and role of the government in an economy. The Society is a disinterested, academic organization avoiding political, social, commercial, or nationalistic bias. The inaugural co-presidents of SAGE are 2007 Nobel Laureate Harvard Professor Eric S. Maskin and Professor David Daokui Li of Tsinghua University. The Society has an open international membership from places such as the United States, Europe, China, and other developing countries. 

The mission of ACCEPT ( is to advance the knowledge of the discipline of economics with proper consideration of Chinese economic thinking and practice. The focus of the Center's research is on the study of government and economics.  Founded in April 2018, ACCEPT is led by its Director, Professor David Daokui Li.


Authors are invited to submit completed papers. Papers will be selected by the Program Committee consisting of a panel of international scholars. Please submit your papers in electronic format (PDF files only) to The paper submission deadline is March 31, 2022. Submitting authors will be notified of the Program Committee's decision by April 7, 2022 via email. We will recommend 2-3 papers to be published in the Journal of Government and Economics ( More detailed information on publication will be released during the annual conference.


Papers related to government and economics in English or Chinese are welcome. Potential topics include, but are not limited to:

•  Government behavior and enterprise development 

•  Government behavior and market cultivation

•  Government governance ability and macroeconomic regulation

•  Government behavior and land supply and transfer 

•  Government incentives and globalization 

•  Government behavior and savings 

•  Government functions and public goods 

•  Fiscal revenue and government behavior 

•  Government and state-owned enterprises 

•  Central and local governments, and internal incentives

•  Regulations and internet platforms

•  Roles of the government and market in pursuit of carbon neutrality

KEYNOTE SPEAKERS (to be invited)

Michael Kremer, 2019 Nobel Laureate, University Professor at the University of Chicago.

Eric Maskin, 2007 Nobel Laureate, Adams University Professor and Professor of Economics and Mathematics at Harvard University.

Thomas Sargent, 2011 Nobel Laureate, William Berkley Professor of Economics at New York University.

Jean Tirole, 2014 Nobel Laureate, Honorary Chairman, Fondation Jean-Jacques Laffont-TSE.

Phillippe Aghion, Professor at College de France and the London School of Economics.

Dani Rodrik, Ford Foundation Professor of International Political Economy at Harvard's John F. Kennedy School of Government.


Erik Berglof                      Professor/Director, IGA, London School of Economics

Meixin Guo                      Researcher, ACCEPT, Tsinghua University

Zhangkai Huang              Associate Professor, SEM, Tsinghua University

Jiandong Ju                      Professor/Director, CIFER-PBCSF, Tsinghua University

Bing Li                              Researcher, ACCEPT, Tsinghua University

David Daokui Li               Professor/Director, ACCEPT, Tsinghua University

Aobo Like                        Executive Deputy Director, ACCEPT, Tsinghua University

Lin Lu                               Researcher, ACCEPT, Tsinghua University

Jan Svejnar                      Professor/Director, CGEG, Columbia University

Ke Tang                           Professor, School of Social Sciences, Tsinghua University

Jing Li                              Secretary, ACCEPT, Tsinghua University

Download the PDF version of this call for papers here:  

Call for Papers for the 4th Annual Conference of Government and Economics6378139867238462672440521.pdf

Society for the Analysis of Government and Economics
Copyright ©2019 - 2024
Rhino Cloud provides enterprise cloud services